Orff- the man

May 17, 2011 at 3:00 am Leave a comment

Quotes from Carl Orff-

Tell me, I forget, show me, I remember, involve me, I understand.

Elemental music is never just music. It is bound up with movement, dance and speech, and so it is a form of music in which one must participate, in which one is involved not as a listener but as a co-performer.

Experience first, then intellectualize.

Carl Orff was a musician, composer and pedagogue.  His most famous composition is Carmina Burana (1937).  I believe his most important contribution to music, was  his method for teaching music to children.  This summer I hope to write more on his method.

Entry filed under: School.

Brown Bag Recital Schedule Arts in schools: Proven recipe for success

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1 other follower


